A Gay, New World

Greetings and/or Salutations all, and welcome to the brand new blog-Skeptigay. So, I’m sure one of the first questions you will be asking is “What are you all about?”

Skeptigay is about being skeptical and gay.

The next logical question should be “What do you mean by “skeptical?”

Being skeptical is following the mindset of Skepticism. Skepticism is the art of questioning and doubting until proper proof is brought. Let’s bear in mind that skepticism and cynicism are two different things. Cynics say “I don’t believe.” Skeptics say “I’m not sure, but I doubt it, until I’m proven otherwise.”

You’re next question is probably going to be something along the lines of: “What constitutes proper proof?”

This isn’t an easy question to answer. It depends on the claim presented. Are you claiming that the sun rises in the east and sets in the west? For this, proper proof would be to go outside at sunrise with a compass. Face the sun, and look at the compass. Does it say East? If it does, that is proper proof. Why? Because you have a clearly defined method of obseration, hypothesizing, testing, and concluding. And, if you do what I did, you can get the same results-reproducability. For those of you playing along at home, what I’ve just described is the Scientific Meathod. If you’re claiming you were probed by UFO’s, then…that’s going to take a lot more. Proof that aliens exist, proof they’ve visited our planet, proof that you were abducted, and proof that you were probed.

Now, I’m guessing that you’re probably asking, “Why are you doing this blog?”

This has several reasons. 1) I have opinion, and if you don’t have one, or yours is broken, you can have mine. I like to share. 2) The world needs more critical thinking. Its like jell-o, there’s always room for it. 3) There are a lot of organizations out there with skeptical blogs catering to certain audiences. The GLBT is not one of them-to my knowledge. I saw a problem, and I said, “Someone needs to fix this”. No one did. So, I decied to take matters into my own hands.

So, your next question is probably something along the lines of: “What credentials do you have to qualify you to do this?”

I graduated Magna cum Fraude from Delphi-Winston Institute (DWI) in 2003, with a B.A. in BS. I’ve written several books including “101 I don’t want you to know”, “Yet more things I don’t want you to know”, and “If I don’t want you to know these things, why am I telling you in the first place?”

In case you didn’t catch the jokes, no, none of that is real. What is real is that I’m an average person who sees great problems in the world. From the promotion of ID, to TV psychics, the world is filled with references to the paranormal and attacks on Church/State seperation. I look at websites devoted to gay interests, and I see horoscopes, and puedoscience. I see Oprah manufacturing a new TV personality to spread misinformation. I see stories of Jesus in the men’s room, mary on toast, and men persecuted for putting mohammed in the newspaper. Irrationality is running rampant in the world, and someone needs to say something. I’m joining the chior of people saying “ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!”.

So, my question to you is: “Of all the blogrolls on the internet, what brought you into this one?”

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “A Gay, New World”

  1. gaytodecember Says:

    Welcome to the interwebs, I found your blog via my tags subscription. I like you found a topic that I thought wasn’t being addressed on the web so started a blog. I’ve been at it for a little over a year with what I think is modest success. I wish the best of luck to you.

  2. Gabrielbrawley Says:

    I was curious what you had to say. I’ll keep checking back. Good luck.

  3. sherav Says:

    Hi

    Great first post – I am always looking to challenge my day to day perceptions and like yourself asking ‘why’.

    Keep up the posts.

    Take Care
    Matthew

  4. perhapskay Says:

    Very nice descriptions. I’ll be back to read more for sure.

Leave a Reply

