Who gets protected

I looked through my Google Reader today, and I came across a story from World News Daily that I found rather disturbing.

According to this link: http://www.wnd.com/index.php?fa=PAGE.view&pageId=114779 a lesbian came up to a coworker and told him about her honeymoon with her new wife. He let it pass. She came up and talked about it again. He let it pass. She came up a third time. He informed her that his christianity tells him that homosexuality is wrong. She complained, and he got fired.

Now, I’m not going to fault this guy. If the story is accurate, he tolerated her talking about things he finds disturbing on several occassions, and politely informed her that according to his religion, homosexuality is wrong. I’m perfectly fine with that. He didn’t tell her to watch her back, or stay away from him, just “I don’t agree with  your lifestyle”.

Tolerance is not acceptance. You can disagree with my lifestyle as much as you want. You can tell me you believe its a sin. I should respect your beliefs and not talk about it to you. Tolerance is a two-way street. She should tolerate his religious view, and he should tolerate her lifestlye.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

